How to Change Game Difficulty in Diablo Immortal


John Paul Santiago

Writer and Storywriter

John creates game guides and covers the latest updates and developments in Valorant, Diablo Immortal, and GTA V for PlayerAssist. He is a PC gaming enthusiast with an affinity for FPS and RPG titles, but he has recently also developed a newfound appreciation for MMORPGs.


Learn how to change game difficulty in Diablo Immortal!

How to Change Game Difficulty in Diablo Immortal

Forget the typical Easy, Normal, and Hard difficulty levels found in most games on the market – Diablo Immortal gives players five additional difficulty levels to shoot for in the endgame.

Completing the Main Campaign begins your extensive dungeon-crawling adventure in Diablo Immortal. As such, you must know everything about the ins and outs of gameplay difficulty in Blizzard’s newest dungeon-crawler.

Find out how you can turn up the intensity in Diablo Immortal by changing the in-game difficulty in this guide.

How to Change Game Difficulty in Diablo Immortal

Players can only change the in-game difficulty after reaching Level 60 in Diablo Immortal.

To change the in-game difficulty in Diablo Immortal, players must head to Westmarch, open the in-game map, and tap on the arrow next to the skull icon on the upper right corner of the map to set their preferred difficulty setting.

For more information about the difficulty levels available in Diablo Immortal, refer to the Difficulty List below.

Paragon Levels

While no additional “levels” will be gained after reaching Level 60, players can continue to amass XP to increase their Paragon Levels instead.

Players earn one Paragon point each time they level up beyond level 60. Paragon points can then be used on Paragon trees to unlock stat bonuses and new skills.

Your Character’s Paragon Level dictates the type of equipment and enemies players can expect from any of the five difficulty settings.

In addition, by moving up to the next difficulty level, players can expect to get at least 50% (or greater) as powerful as the maximum loot levels found in the previous difficulty level.

Difficulty List

There are five levels of difficulty in Diablo Immortal (excluding the default “Normal” difficulty.)

As players move up in difficulty, the quality of loot also increases to compensate for the more powerful enemies. Players must improve their Combat Rating to match their chosen difficulty’s requirements to move up to the succeeding difficulty levels,

Normal-Players can loot equipment for levels 1 to 60
-Default difficulty in Diabolo Immortal
Hell I-Paragon Level 0-60 Loot
-Set items drop in dungeon runs
-Hell I require a party of 2 players
-Players need at least 520 Combat Rating to unlock Hell I difficulty
Hell II-Paragon Level 30 to 130 Loot
-Set items are dropped in dungeon runs
-Hell II requires a party of 4 players
-Players need at least 1220 Combat Rating to unlock Hell II difficulty
Hell III-Paragon Level 90 to 210 Loot
-Set items are dropped in dungeon runs
-Hell III requires a party of 4 players
-Players need at least 2120 Combat Rating to unlock Hell III difficulty
Hell IV-Paragon Level 160 to 300 Loot
-Set items are dropped in dungeon runs
-Hell IV requires a party of 4 players
-Players need at least 3250 Combat Rating to unlock Hell IV difficulty
Hell V-Paragon Level 240 to 600 Loot
-Set items are dropped in dungeon runs
-Hell V requires a party of 4 players
-Players need at least 5025 Combat Rating to unlock Hell V difficulty

What can players get from increased difficulty?

Before reaching Level 60, Diablo Immortal players move through the game in “Normal” gameplay difficulty. Moving up to any “Hell” level difficulties will give players a more challenging dungeon-crawling experience and better loot drops.

More Challenging Enemies

The amount of HP and the damage that enemies deal in the Diablo Immortal scale according to the in-game difficulty you have set after hitting Level 60. In addition, Elite-type monsters gain attack and status modifiers as players move through the five Hell levels, which leads to more challenging dungeon runs.

Setting the difficulty a tier higher than what’s appropriate for your Character’s current power level will only frustrate you in the long run, so it might be best to choose the in-game difficulty setting appropriate for your Character’s Combat Rating.

Nevertheless, there is the allure of getting even better loot by challenging a difficulty level above your Character’s current Paragon level. Whether you’re up for that challenge is up to you.

Better Loot and XP

Players have to deal with a much more challenging set of enemies in difficulties Hell I to Hell V, so Diablo Immortal appropriately increases the amount of loot and XP that players can gain from clearing dungeons in a higher difficulty setting as well.

Players can expect more Gold, better equipment, and higher XP gains in Hell I and above versus the Normal difficulty setting.

Speaking of better loot, Set Items also begin to drop at difficulty level Hell I, and as players move up in difficulty levels, the quality of Set Items improves accordingly. 

Set Items are endgame-tier equipment players can add to their Character’s secondary equipment slots in-game. They are necessary to improve your Character’s power levels in Diablo Immortal. 

Up For A Challenge

The additional difficulty levels in Diablo Immortal will give players a much-needed sense of progress, so players always have something to aim for in-game.

In addition, the better loot players can gain from the higher difficulty levels should motivate players to keep grinding to make their Characters even stronger in Diablo Immortal.

So, there we have it! We hope you learned a ton from our How to Change Game Difficulty guide for Diablo Immortal.

Visit the PlayerAssist website for more Gaming Guides, Gaming News, Game Codes, and other gaming content!

featured image valorant how to play controller agents

VALORANT: How to Play Controller Agents