How to Reset Valor Rank in Destiny 2


Kenneth Mitchell

Writer and Storywriter


Two ranks ought to be familiar to Destiny 2 players, the Glory and Valor Ranks, with the latter connected to playing in the Crucible. By climbing and resetting Valor Ranks, players get access to some attractive rewards.

How to Reset Valor Rank in Destiny 2

If you’re not sure how resetting Valor Rank works, you’ve come to the right place. It’s a good idea to keep resetting a priority when the option becomes available. The rewards disappear once the season ends, so you don’t want to miss out. Read to the end to find out more about resetting Valor Ranks in Destiny 2.

Climbing Up the Valor Ranks

The only way to earn Valor Rank points is to play in the Crucible, particularly in the Quickplay or Rumble playlists. The difference between Glory and Valor Ranks is that you always get Valor Rank points, even if you lose. You, of course, earn more if you win, and streaks help you earn more points.

You can continue a streak even if you log out after playing enough in a day, head to the Tower or HELM. Other activities, however, will break your streak and consequently cause you to lose out on points.

For example, if you leave a Strike, Gambit match, or Crucible game, you lose a point in the streak.

The more you win, though, the sooner you go through the Valor Ranks.

Everyone begins the season at the Guardian Rank, but there are six ranks to climb up to:

  • Brave
  • Heroic
  • Fabled
  • Mythic
  • Legend
  • Exotic

Valor Rank caps out at 2,000 points, and once you get to this point, you can reset your Valor Rank.

Resetting Valor Rank

Head to the Tower and talk to Lord Shaxx to start the reset process. You should know where he is, as you’re likely to pay him many visits over the seasons. Here are the exact steps for resetting your Valor Rank:

  1. Go to the Tower and find Lord Shaxx.
    1 111
  2. Talk to him.
    2 20
  3. Collect all the rewards he gives you.
    3 15
  4. Select and hold the button the game specifies to reset your Valor Rank.
    4 15

Resetting your Valor Rank is that simple, and Lord Shaxx is always there to help. If that was your first-time resetting, you get an Ascendant Shard for your efforts. Subsequent maxing and resets yield more Enhancement Cores and Prisms, as well as an Exotic Engram.

5 8

You can also leave your Valor Rank be and let it reset after the season ends. However, we don’t advise doing so since you’ll lose out on Lord Shaxx’s reset rewards.

You can reset your Valor Rank as many times as you want. All you need are the points and determination to grind in the Crucible for a long time every day.

Tips for Rising in the Ranks

The best way to earn more points is to play PvP frequently. There are weekly challenges, bounties, and Iron Banner matches. All of these will help you reach max Rank quickly.

As mentioned earlier, the more you win, the sooner you rise through the ranks. Also, remember that it’s better to play with friends with voice chat to make communication more manageable.

Focus on learning how to play the game as well. Better shooting skills, reaction time, and other abilities will help you dominate the Crucible easier.

Superior Firepower and Skills Always Wins

To gain more Valor Rank resets, aim to win and play in the Crucible often. The rewards are worth the grind, especially the Exotic Engram. As long as you can reset your Valor Rank, you’ll continue to gain the rewards.

How many times have you reset your Valor Rank in a season? Do you grind for the rewards at all? Let us know in the comments section below.


How To Loot a Desert Pyramid in Minecraft