Diablo Immortal: Normal Gems Guide


John Paul Santiago

Writer and Storywriter

John creates game guides and covers the latest updates and developments in Valorant, Diablo Immortal, and GTA V for PlayerAssist. He is a PC gaming enthusiast with an affinity for FPS and RPG titles, but he has recently also developed a newfound appreciation for MMORPGs.


Normal Gems provide immediate status upgrades to your character in Diablo Immortal.

Diablo Immortal: Normal Gems Guide

Generally, the word “normal” denotes a usual or average quality in items, effects, or equipment in MMORPG. However, in terms of Diablo Immortal Gems, Normal Gems are only really called “normal” because of how insanely good the Legendary Gems’ status buffs are in comparison.

Despite their relatively underwhelming bonuses, players shouldn’t count out Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal since Normal Gems are easy to acquire and provide instantaneous status buffs that can immediately improve your character’s power levels in-game.

We will walk you through everything you need to know about Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal in this guide.

What are Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal

Normal Gems are supplemental items in Diablo Immortal that players can use to provide various bonuses depending on the Gem type.

We used the word supplemental because Normal Gems must be “socketed” onto in-game gear of the same color.

There are three different Normal Gem colors. These are:

  • Red Colored Normal Gems
  • Blue Colored Normal Gems
  • Yellow Colored Normal Gems

Generally, Red and Blue colored Normal Gems feature the more useful status bonuses versus the Yellow Gems. (Because Damage>HP>Armor Penetration>Armor>Potency = All Resistance), so players might want to prioritize completing missions that offer Red and Blue Gems as rewards.

Normal Gem Types and Effects in Diablo Immortal

There are six Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal split into three different socket color groups. Normal Gem effects vary from one Gem type to another, as shown below:

Normal Gem Effect
Aquamarine (Blue)Armor
+8 Rank 1
+1,256 Rank 10
Sapphire (Blue)Armor Penetration
+8 Rank 1
+1,256 Rank 10
Ruby (Red)Life
+80 Rank 1
+4,800 Rank 10
Tourmaline (Red)Damage
+8 Rank 1
+480 Rank 10
Citrine (Yellow)Potency
+8 Rank 1
+1,256 Rank 10
Topaz (Yellow)All Resistances
+8 Rank 1
+1,256 Rank 10

How to Get Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal

There are six ways to acquire Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal:

  • Using Platinum in the Marketplace
  • Crafting by The Apprentice Jeweler
  • Clearing Rifts, Dungeons, and Hidden Lairs
  • Hilts Trader
  • Battle Pass
  • First Kill Of The Day

Get Normal Gems by Using Platinum in the Marketplace

image 110

After completing a few main and side quests in Diablo Immortal (and reaching Level 30), players will eventually make their way to Westmarch, where players can sell items or buy Gems (both Normal and Legendary) with Platinum from the Marketplace.

Crafting by The Apprentice Jeweler

image 117

Another way players can get Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal is by converting Runes into specific Gems of the player’s choice through The Apprentice Jeweler.

This option is particularly great if you have a specific Gem that you would like to acquire. However, players must collect the necessary Runes from Elder Rift runs to craft them into Normal or Legendary Gems.

Clearing Rifts, Dungeons, and Hidden Lairs

image 113

Running through and completing Rifts, Dungeons, and Hidden Lairs in Diablo Immortal can net players with some Normal Gems upon completion.

The cool part? Players can get a random Normal Gem or the materials needed to craft them (Runes) by simply completing the game’s Rifts, Dungeons, and Hidden Lairs missions.

Hilts Trader

image 116

Got a stash of Hilts in your inventory? Trade them up for Normal Gems at the Hilts Trader in Westmarch.

Players can purchase either a Normal Gem or a Legendary Gem from the Hilts Trader for 1600 or 200 Hilts, respectively.

However, remember that the Gem options from the Hilts Trader are pretty limited, as players can only purchase up to one Legendary Gem per month and just 10 Normal Gems per week.

Still, it pays to give the Hilts Trader a visit now and then. Who knows, the Hilts Trader might have that Normal Gem you’ve been looking for.

Battle Pass

image 108

Players can also acquire free Normal Gems by leveling up the Diablo Immortal Battle Pass.

It won’t matter if you’re using the free BP or the Empowered BP, as reaching certain levels within the Battle Pass will award players with Normal Gems.

First Kill Of The Day

image 120

Days four and six of the First Kill Of The Day event also provide free Normal Gems to players. Make sure you log in daily to claim these free Normal Gems.

How to Use Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal

image 118

As the less premium Gem in-game, Normal Gems can only be socketed into the following equipment types in Diablo Immortal:

  • Amulets (up to 1 Red Gem, 1 Blue Gem, and 1 Yellow Gem per socket)
  • Rings (up to 1 Red Gem, 1 Blue Gem, and 1 Yellow Gem per socket)
  • Gloves (1-3 Yellow Gems per Glove)
  • Belts (1-3 Red Gems per Belt)
  • Boots (1-3 Blue Sockets per Boots)

Sockets on the above equipment types are color-coded, meaning players can only socket Blue Gems into Blue Socket, Red Gems into Red Sockets, and Yellow Gems into Yellow Sockets. (refer to the socket color and max Normal Gem per socket from the list above)

Players can head to The Apprentice Jeweler to use Normal Gems to select a specific item they would like to socket their Normal Gem into.

Upgrading Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal

Players can upgrade Normal Gems through The Apprentice Jeweler in Rakkis Plaza in Westmarch.

Normal Gem Upgrade Requirements

As seen in the Normal Gem Types and Effects Table above, Normal Gems can scale from Rank 1 up to Rank 10, where the better the rank, the greater the status effects that Normal Gems provide in-game.

To upgrade Normal Gems, players have to combine three Normal Gems of the same Type and Rank to obtain a single Normal Gem of greater Rank.

In other words, if players want to acquire a single Rank 2 Tourmaline Normal Gem, they will need three Rank 1 Tourmaline Gems. To get a single Rank 3 Tourmaline Normal Gem, players will subsequently need three Rank 2 Tourmaline Gems, and so on.

Upgrading Normal Gems beyond Rank 5

image 119

Players can upgrade their Normal Gems through the process in the previous section. However, players will need an Echo Crystal in addition to having three same Type and Rank Normal Gems when upgrading beyond Rank 5.

Players can purchase Echo Crystals for 500 Platinum credits from the Crystal Merchant in Westmarch. 

Not So Normal, After All

Normal Gems provide decent status buffs that can increase a player’s overall power level in-game. Upgrading these Gems can give even more status buffs that can take your character to the next level in Diablo Immortal.

So, there we have it! We hope that we have covered everything you need about Normal Gems in Diablo Immortal in this guide.

Visit the PlayerAssist website for more Gaming Guides, Gaming News, Game Codes, and other gaming content!

2022061317140600 F1C11A22FAEE3B82F21B330E1B786A39

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild: Lanno Kooh Shrine Guide